CSIR UGC NET December 2026 Application Schedule and Eligibility
The National Testing Agency (NTA) will conduct the CSIR UGC NET December 2026 examination, with online applications forming the entry point for candidates. The application process requires applicants to meet the educational criteria, pay the applicable fee and work within separate submission and correction schedules.
For aspirants, the key distinction is between eligibility to apply and the age restriction specified for JRF. Understanding that distinction alongside the payment deadline helps candidates assess their position before completing the online form.
CSIR UGC NET December 2026: Application Schedule and Eligibility Guide

This cycle brings together a defined application period, a later correction window and an online examination. Candidates should treat these as separate administrative steps rather than assume that the correction period extends the application deadline.
The fee structure also includes a late-fee amount, but no separate late-submission schedule is specified.
Application Timeline and Correction Window
Online registration and fee payment share the same closing date, so candidates should coordinate both steps within the application period. The correction window follows after registration closes and provides a separate period for correcting application details.
Because no scope of permitted corrections is specified, candidates should check their entries carefully before submission rather than depend on being able to change every field later.
| Application event | Date |
|---|---|
| Online application opens | 07 October 2026 |
| Last date to apply online | 05 November 2026 |
| Last date for fee payment | 05 November 2026 |
| Application correction window | 10–12 November 2026 |
Candidates must complete the application online through the NTA website. Review the relevant-subject qualification, academic marks and applicant category before submitting the form, since these details relate directly to eligibility and the applicable fee.
Educational Qualification and JRF Age Limit
The educational requirement covers candidates who have passed or appeared in a Master’s Degree examination in the relevant subject. It combines a subject requirement, a minimum marks threshold and recognition of the university or institution.
The specified maximum age applies to JRF; it should not be read as a universal age limit for every purpose of the examination.
- Candidates must have passed or appeared in a Master’s Degree examination in the relevant subject.
- The minimum marks requirement is 55%.
- The qualification must be from a recognized university or institution.
- The maximum age for JRF is 30 years, with age relaxation as per NTA regulations.
Recommended for You: UGC NET/JRF December
No age-calculation date or category-wise relaxation amounts are specified. Applicants who need an age relaxation should consult the NTA regulations when assessing their eligibility.
Application Fees and the Late-Fee Provision
The application fee varies across the listed applicant categories, making category selection relevant to the amount payable. A separate late-fee entry is also provided, but it does not establish an additional application window.
Candidates should therefore follow the published submission and payment deadlines rather than interpret the late fee as permission to apply after closure.
| Applicant category or fee entry | Amount |
|---|---|
| General | ₹ 1,150 |
| OBC, EWS, NCL | ₹ 600 |
| SC/ST | ₹ 325 |
| Late fee | ₹ 500 |
The conditions for applying the late fee are not specified. It should remain distinct from the category-wise application fee when candidates review their payment obligations.
Examination Dates, Admit Card and Result Status
The listed selection stage is an online examination, scheduled across three December dates. These dates establish the examination calendar but do not provide a subject-wise or candidate-wise allocation.
Admit-card availability is stated as before the examination, while a specific release date and result date are not provided.
- Examination dates: 19, 22 and 27 December 2026.
- Selection stage: Online Examination.
- Admit card: To be available before the examination.
- Result status: To be updated soon.
The examination pattern, duration, marking scheme and negative-marking rules are not specified. Candidates should keep those preparation-related details separate from the confirmed application and examination schedule.
Important Links
Recommended for You: JEE Mains Session I